Life … the Hard Way

I’ve never really taken the easy road … life just hasn’t dealt me that hand … or that personality. God created me in a much different way. But in so doing, He has provided me the strength and courage to live day by day.

For me, life is really touch and go. If I stay at home too much, depression comes on like a herd of elephants. If I go to the store, I spend waaay too much money that we just don’t have. Overall, it’s customary (and beneficial) for someone with my illness to stay home more than most people.

Of course, I am not alone. Days I spend at home, God and I talk most all day. We spend the day together and it’s wonderful!

But for some reason, I suffer more during the holidays. Subsequently, I spend more time at home during this season. I think this holds true for most Bipolar patients.

My doctors have never really been able to give me an explanation for this … Dr. Barrier says it’s just the added stress and activity. And WHAT have I chosen to do in this time of great stress and activity? Open my heart, my mental illness, and put it all out there!! Sure, LeeAnn, start a blog during the holidays … that makes a lot of sense! (laughing at myself.)

Perfect timing, huh?

(But really, what was I thinking starting my blog during the holidays … Like I said, I’ve never really done things the easy way … par for the LeeAnn course!)

So friends and family, I’d like to invite you to spend this holiday season with me! Now that you know me a bit better and understand a little more of what I will be going through, would you join God in holding my hand through the next couple of months? And in return, I’ll continue to give you peek into the wild roller coaster ride I call my life!

May God bless y’all for walking with me.

Until next time …

7 thoughts on “Life … the Hard Way

  1. Cheryl Linn Martin says:

    This is wonderful, LeeAnn. Many people will benefit from your openness and honesty.

    I’m sure as you go along and write about your experiences, you’ll find it very helpful to yourself as well as others who read your posts.

    Blessings!

  2. Sandi says:

    Love your transparency – hurt for your pain. My son and my mother are both bipolar – and both are untreated, undiagnosed, but with all the symptoms. I’ve bookmarked your site and will be following your journey. May God use you in a mighty way.

  3. Celeste Vaughan says:

    Again, I think your blog looks great! I love the banner at the top. It’s so representative of bipolar disorder. If you have a hard time during the holidays, it’s the perfect time to start a blog. Being transparent and putting it our there for everyone to see is so freeing. Blogging truly is therapy, and every time a blog I am reminded of why I’d going on this “write” journey!

Leave a Reply

