Gobble Gobble, Y’all!

A Great Turkey Day! And lots of good Southern food prepared by this Southern girl!

Per usual, I had my issues with staying focused. I bounced around my kitchen like a super ball … up, down, and all around! We were supposed to eat around 4 (I guess) but it was more like 7:30 p.m. You should’ve been a fly on the wall …

“… my feet spinning around like Fred Flinstone’s …”

Since it is totally impossible for me to concentrate on ANY one thing at a time, a meal this size is my most challenging culinary projects of the year!

Southern cooks don’t believe in dumping cans in a pan, heating it and, tossing it in a bowl with a little salt and pepper. Oh no! My soufflés, casseroles, dressings … whatever … contain more ingredients than you can shake a stick at. So here I am Thursday—my feet spinning around like Fred Flinstone’s—all over the place! The poor kitchen sink looks like the Indianapolis 500 racetrack with all its scuffs and scrapes.

AT LAST!!! … all the casseroles, etc stop jiggling around and I can finally announce, “Let’s eeeeaaaat!”

Everything turned out fab … well, except Kristie (God love her) picked out squash the size of baseball bats so the squash casserole was somewhat bland.

Oh well, you can’t win them all!

Everyone went to their bedrooms and dozed away … all but one of us … guess whoooo? Oh yeah. Way too much excitement for this ole girl.

I took my medicine.

It did not work.

Not a chance.

I was wound up tight as a spring, my mind flying in circles!

This is my life.

I’m a thankful and grateful woman who happens to be a slammin bipolar!

God has blessed me with an abundance of love, mercy, and salvation. Mental illness or not, I know God laid this cross on my back because He knew I could survive it. Because He was, is, and always will be holding my hand. As I suffer sometimes more than others, I feel His arms wrap tightly around me.

SO …

I suggest we  all bow our heads in thanks to God our Father for all the many blessings of life He lays on our table every single day!

How about y’all?

Send some holiday stories my way!!

 

6 thoughts on “Gobble Gobble, Y’all!

  1. Author Glen Bear Smith says:

    Being a retired chef, I love to cook. I hate like hell to clean up after dinner. Never had to in my restaurants, and I have had to learn to adjust. I have to make everything from scratch as well. I can only stay focused for an hour or so and have to go to Fanstory.com and write. Writing is my release, well that and welbutrin.

    I had a house full. My table extends out to eight feet and I needed every bit of it.

    I had a successful holiday and hope everyone else did as well
    Bear

Leave a Reply

